Awesomeness by Number: 2010

2010 has been a good year. In private matters as well as in my work life.

I have done a lot of cool thinks. For example:

  • St. Patrick’s Day celebrations in Dublin
  • Parkour running in Hamburg
  • participated in CouchSurfing
  • … and a lot of travelling

Nine countries in Europe were visited by me. Here are the biggest cities I have been to in 2010 (in temporal order): Ulm, Dublin, Pisa, Florence, Budapest, Amsterdam, Den Haag, Rotterdam, Brussel, Bruges, Luxembourg, Madrid, Córdoba, Sevilla, Cádiz, Munich

A lot of friendly and interesting people accompanied me on my way through 2010.

I have read more than 40 books. Here are those that I consider as best:

  • Death in the Afternoon – by Ernest Hemingway
  • Auf eine Zigarette mit Helmut Schmidt – by Helmut Schmidt und Giovanni DiLorenzo
  • Surely you are Joking Mr.Feynman – by Richard Feynman

I did sports on more than 280 days of this year (maybe even more than 300 days – I didn’t count … )

Good movies seen:

  • Moon
  • In Bruges (after I went to Belgium)
  • Eulogy to Slowness

Personal Soundtrack of 2010:

Oasis – Whatever

Stromae – Alors on Danse

Yolanda Be Cool & DCUP – We no Speak Americano (Party in Tuscany!!!)

Besh O Drom (I saw the band on a beach party on the shore of the Danube)

Kayne West – Harder Better Faster Stronger (Urbanathlon Hamburg)

Peter Fox – Stadtaffe (Urbanathlon Hamburg)

ACDC – Hells Bells (starting signal for Urbanathlon Hamburg)

… guess I have forgotton to mention a lot of other thinks that shaped my great memories of the year 2010.

Rock Your Shamrock - St. Patrick's Day 2010

 
Budapest 2010
Above the roofs of Florence

Above the roofs of Florence

Urbanathlon 2010

Finisher of the Urbanathlon 2010

Hamburg Port Authority: Swimming in the habour area is life-threatening

2010 has been a great year! But there is potential for 2011 …

My biggest project for 2011 brings me for half a year to Mexico City. Since this part of the year seems kind of vague to me I can’t assume the same conditions that I had in 2010. Furthermore, I don’t know how the rest of the year might look like. Maybe I never return from Mexico. Who knows? That is why I am kind of reserved for my plans in 2011.

However, there are definetely things that I will do in 2011 that others would not even dream about. Some things that seem trivial but also thinks on the verge of craziness.

As a start, here are the more trivial thinks:

  • work in Mexico City
  • 50 Book Challenge
  • 100 Push-Ups in a row (a sporty challenge possible to meet even w/o access to a gym -> perfect for the first half of the year)
  • vacations in Spain (this time Valencia and/or Bilbao)

… maybe I will visit Strasbourg this year? One of the thinks I might have done years ago. My European tour can’t be complete w/o France.

This is only the official agenda. There are more points on my list … maybe more about those point at a later point in time. And there will be surely ideas that come to me while the year 2011 progresses. I also had fabulous ideas in 2010. Realizing those ideas was part of great experiences that I collected in 2010. On New Years Eve 2009 I would’ve never imagined travelling to Tuscany, participating in a parkour run, or jogging along the shore of the Danube in the year 2010. But I did … There will be more events to come in 2011. Great events cast their shadows ahead. Friends and family, thanks for your support in 2010 – 2011 will be even greater. Brace for impact!

Leave a Reply

