50 Books Challenge: The Best of 2012

Steve Jobs Biography

As much as I hate Steve Jobs, as interesting was is to read his official biography.

Guy Kawasaki – The Apple Way

Motivational, inspiring, historically interesting!

Superfreakonomics – Steven D. Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner

This is the second part of the every-day economic lessons. The authors give simple and comprehensible explanations of economic terms/effects derived from funny facts found in statistics and research. I should start an own blog entry just about this book …

When I realised that I was half-way through with Superfreakonomics, I thought that I have to “save up” the remaining chapters instead of inhaling them like summer-morning-air. To conclude, I enjoyed the book very much!🙂

The Agony and the Ecstasy – Irving Stone, already in my personal category for medium to heavy books (more than 600 pages). However, I was able to read it in a comparably short period of time because it is enchanting, although, the genius of Michelangelo can be called “grumpy”. My favorite part is Michelangelo facing pope Sixtus II in fierce. I am not sure how much is true or fiction. Of course Michelangelo met Leonardo and Rafael. But what about the stories from his youth? Or the surgery/ anatomical investigations that he did in a morgue or the confrontations with the pope?

Nonetheless, the book tied me reading for hours on my sofa – a biographical novel worth reading.

Die Vermessung der Welt – Daniel Kehlmann

Also a biographical novel. The lives of the mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss and the scientist Alexander von Humboldt. Intriguing, some myths, but same as Michelangelo: There is always a potion of historic facts inside it. A quick read, but nonetheless entertaining and partly educational about a few historic facts – and historic pitfalls like Neptunism (obsolete theory that earths geology was formed by ancient oceans). For my taste the book is a bit too short and too flimsy about the science/math behind what is going on with the main characters. The Gauss distribution is mentioned but never explained. Anyway, it is a good read after all and I can recommend it.

Some more books from this years reading list that I can recommend:

#08 11 Geheimnisse des IKEA-Erfolgs – Rüdiger Jungbluth
#09 Die PUMA Story – Rolf-Herbert Peters
#32 Pizza Globale – Paul Trummer
#44 Die letzte Generation – Arthur C. Clark

I am looking forward into a new 50 book challenge in 2013! Are you in for the challenge?

Leave a Reply

